Today was my first day of class at DeAnza. I’m ta…

Today was my first day of class at DeAnza. I’m taking the Math 1b class which is basically intro to integral calculus. It’s been a while since I’ve been in school (at least in a ‘real’ class… I took Italian a couple years ago), so a lot of thoughts came flooding into my mind:

– teachers ‘care’ about what they’re teaching, even though they’ve taught it over and over again

– it’s annoying when students go through the motions but don’t really care

– math is fun, even beautiful

– criticism needs to be tempered to the environment (I know this is a stretch, but maybe I’ll come back to this point)

– I might be an academic!

– How exactly does out mind work? Why do we need the ‘ladder of the mind’? Are ‘model’ and metaphor just tools to help get up that ladder or are they ‘real’? It’s annoying that they’re not real!

0 Responses to “Today was my first day of class at DeAnza. I’m ta…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

