Anyone who has no spiritual aspirations is an idiot

“Of course, it mattered little to me whether he really followed ‘the true way’ or not; or whether he would ever reach heaven. What I feared was the harm he might cause me if he decided to change his ways. It was simply self-interest that prompted my remark.

     I said again: ‘Anyone who has no spiritual aspirations is an idiot.’ I watched [him] closely. I wanted to see how my words were affecting him.

     ‘An idiot…’ he said at last. ‘Yes, I’m an idiot.’

     … I was suddenly frightened that, in desperation, [he] had decided to accept the fact that he was an idiot. I was as demoralized as a man who finds that his opponent, whom he has just knocked down, is about to sppring up with a new weapon in hand.” page 215, Kokoro (Soseki)

0 Responses to “Anyone who has no spiritual aspirations is an idiot”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

