Winamp

Stuff like this is why I can’t stop using winamp. I really, really want to use something else. The instability and, to be honest, the crustiness of winamp drive me up the wall.

But no matter what you want to do with your music, no matter how off the wall it may be, someone in the winamp community has built a plugin to make it happen. I’m always amazed.

This morning I woke up intending to go to the office to read/study. I like to leave the house to study, I feel more productive. One of the downsides of my campus office is I can’t listen to music there (at least not *my* music). I said to myself, “wouldn’t it be cool if I could stream my music over the internet.” Well a few googles later, I found this. WAWI allows me to control the winamp client sitting on my desktop at home (where my music collection is found). In combination with the shoutcast server, I’m streaming my music.

If only Songbird, or something, could get such a community behind it.

(Ironically, the WAWI crashes out firefox. It seems stable in IE though.)

UPDATE: Right. To actually listen to the streamed radio, tune into the same URL as above but add one to the port. If nothing’s playing, I’m not listening to anything. This all is for personal use, but I thought its a neat demonstration of what you can do. You can imagine a collaborative radio station where users have the permission to add songs to the play list, etc.

0 Responses to “Winamp”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

